Illinois Prison Talk
News: wc75-1  ILLINOIS PRISON LOCKDOWN STATUS:

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. October 25, 2014, 04:27:48 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: 1   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Decatur Women's Correctional Center  (Read 3621 times)
ldurbin33

« on: September 21, 2012, 10:27:27 AM »

Hi. I am new to this IDOC thing and I have lots of questions. My L/O was sentenced to prison last month and was intially sent to Dwight for R/C. While there I set her up a phone account & put money in her commissary. I was wondering if this money followed her from Dwight to Decatur. Also, when will she be allowed to call? I am worried about her and would feel better if I could talk to her. Since I have sent her a couple of letters (the first one was sent back because I failed to put my full name on the return address) I was wondering if they will find her or get sent back?

Also, does anyone know how visitation works there? Any limitations? What can I expect when I visit for the first time?

Any answers to these questions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

kp18437
Mod Squad

« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2012, 02:28:12 PM »

Hi and welcome to the forum!

The money on her books will follow her, but sometimes takes a while to catch up.  Up to a couple of weeks.  It's a good idea to put a small amount on her books right away to ensure that she can go to commissary till her other funds catch up.  It can take up to a month to get the phone list approved.  Sometimes, even longer.  As long as you have the account set up with Consolidated, when her list is approved and she gets her PIN, she'll be able to call you.  The mail you've sent will catch up to her.  Again, it will take a little while, but she should receive it.  You'll also have to wait to have her visitation list approved.